pepper for bleeding?

A couple of weeks ago, I spent the afternoon at the Emergency with my 8-year-old son who had cut himself while he was ‘sharpening a weapon’ in the garden. (Ah, boys will be boys!)

I don’t usually panic under stressful situations, but as I was tending to him in the house, I got really nervous because the bleeding was very VERY heavy and it just wouldn’t stop!

I tried everything: applied pressure, lifted the arm, cold compress, arnica homeopathic remedy, and I even tried putting ground coffee powder on it after my housemaid suggested it. I was willing to do anything!

None of my efforts worked. And all we had was one blood-drenched towel after another, blood trickling down his elbow, and one terrified kid.

Of course I realised that it needed stitches very early on, but I just needed to stop the bleeding (or at least reduce it) so I can drive him to the hospital.

Just before we got into the car, I remembered Reem’s email from ages ago.  She had mentioned that she tried Cayenne Pepper powder to stop bleeding. I had posted her email and found that many people benefited from it. I even remember buying cayenne pepper for that reason once (in case I ever needed it).

I ran to the kitchen, attacked the spice cabinet and fished out the cayenne pepper. And then I smothered his finger with it. He was already crying by then so he just added an extra wince when I put it.

And voila!

It stopped!

I know you might not believe me, but I can now say that it works from experience! It didn’t heal the wound of course. But it certainly stopped the bleeding. And by the time we got to the hospital the doctor even asked, “did the cut bleed?”

I said, “yes, it stopped when I put cayenne pepper on it”

He gave me a what-is-this-crazy-mother-saying look. But I’m used to that🙂

So for what it’s worth:

  • If you don’t have cayenne pepper powder in your spice cabinet (or medicine cabinet), this is the time to get it
  • Use it for emergency bleeding situations

Here’s Reem’s email from a few years ago.

And remember to sign up on my email list for the latest, click here www.AliaAlmoayed.com

One response to “pepper for bleeding?

  1. كيف حالكي عزيزتي
    اود ان اخذ رايك لي اخت وهي كبيرة في السن ومن اشد المعجبين بكي وبفضلك بعدما كبرت في السن تريد ان تدرس تخصص تغذية كماكي ولكنها كبيرة فهي ٥٥ سنه وارادت والحت ان اسالك اين يمكن ان تدرس للتصبحي مثلكي ولكي جزيل الشكر

Leave a Reply

