Tribute to Fairuz

This is a tribute to Fairuz.  She is such an icon and an amazing singer/performer.

I have spent a big part of my childhood listening to Fairuz through my mother.  I even have a vivid memory of sitting in my mother’s yellow Chevrolet Malibu Classic and inserting those huge cartidge-like tapes which had Fairuz’s picture on it. It must have been around 1979.  I was only 3 at the time, but for some reason that’s one of the very few memories I have from that age.

I wanted my mother to play the tape over and over again cuz there was a song called ‘Alia’ and I felt special listening to it🙂

But I’m sure I’m not the only one with a Fairuz memory.  She played such a big role in people’s lives for many decades.  I’m sure you have your own memories that her songs bring up.   You’ve gotta love her!

More recently, I got my hands on piano scores for one of Fairuz’s greatest songs.  It’s called ‘Atini Alnay’ أعطني الناي

It’s such a beautiful song and if you hear it, you keep humming it all day.  It roughly translates as ‘give me the recorder and sing, because singing is the secret of life…’  The words are written by Jubran Khalil Jubran.

It took me months to learn how to play it and I’m still trying to improve it.

Here’s a video of me playing it.  Hope you like it – Just ignore the mistakes🙂

And don’t forget to sign up on my website for the latest www.AliaAlmoayed.com

5 responses to “Tribute to Fairuz

  1. Lovely! Thanks for sharing🙂

  2. I love the song! One of my favortie ones. Too bad you are not singing while playing it! Give it a try😉

  3. Nice cover! Do you by any chance have a copy of the score that you can digitally send?

  4. A beautiful lady with a wonderful voice, I first heard her on the radio when I was a volunteer on a Kibbutz. Whenever I hear her songs it takes me back to that magic time. Music does transend boarders, cultures and hatred, thank you.

  5. Hi. I have been looking for piano notes for fayrouz songs online, but couldn’t find any. Can you help?
    Do you think there are any books in the music stores in Lebanon?
    Thanks🙂

Leave a Reply

