Interviewing the Ayurvedic Doctor

When I wrote about my Ayurvedic experience in India, I also promised to post an audio interview that I had with the Ayurvedic doctor himself.

Shortly after I Arrived at the Ayushya Ayurvedic Centre in Kerala, I had a chat with the Ayurvedic doctor who runs it, Dr. P. Sambhu (photo above).  This man is fascinating!

In fact, I was so impressed that I thought I had to bring a piece of his knowledge to all my readers.  So I recorded a chat that I had with him.  He very kindly gave me a lot of his precious time and patience in spite of his very busy schedule.

**********************

The Interview!

Click below to listen to the audio interview I conducted with the Ayurvedic doctor – Dr. Sambhu.

CLICK HERE for Interview with Dr Sambhu (Ayurvedic doctor)


**********************

In the photos below, you can also see pictures of the Ayurvedic centre in Kerala, and the massage room that I spent a whole week in.  The daily procedure of massage, enemas, and a few other funky stuff took about 2-3 hours each day.

During and after the treatment

I was told that the Ayurvedic Panchakarma treatment will have an effect on my body and emotions.  I was also told not to interfere with the process, to just observe and stay neutral to what comes up.

During the course of the seven days, I noticed some very interesting stuff.  Here’s a few:

  • My appetite reduced until I was eating barely two very small meals each day.  As a result, I lost some weight (unintentionally).  This continued for about a week but now my appetite is back to normal.  This happened as my Pitta dosha was revived and made my body more efficient at burning its existing fuel
  • I also felt a lot of sinus congestion the first couple of days. This was probably due to all the toxins beings released and Kapha dosha realigning.  It is much better now and was significantly helped by the Ayurvedic nose drops that I still use.
  • I became very sensitive emotionally.  It felt like being very ‘raw’ and ‘open’ to outside influences.  For example, I would sympathise with people more, I would cry easier, etc…
  • My digestion and elimination improved (I guess the enemas helped with that!) and Pitta dosha came into effect vs. the slow/sleepy digestion of Kapha
  • I was (and still am) having very vivid dreams.  It’s probably the body’s way of detoxing thoughts and emotions
  • My strength and endurance improved, helping me sustain energy for longer periods during the day.  That could also be my Pitta dosha rising up from under the rubble.
  • The daily massages made me feel very supple.  My flexibility improved significantly.
  • My ‘drive’ and desire for work have skyrocketed, and my creative flow became significantly better.  Again, that’s Pitta and Vata re-balancing
  • Overall, it felt like my doshas went back to being Kapha-Pitta instead of an overpowering Kapha.  If you would like to familiarise yourself with the Ayurvedic system in an easy read, I would highly recommend Deepak Chopra’s book  Perfect Health.  This book even has a quiz that helps you find out your own dosha and how to address it.

I’m still keeping a watch out for what comes up.  Dr. Sambhu said that the effects can last for up to 3-5 months after the treatment.  He said not to make any big decisions in this period (e.g. about relationships or work) because the feelings might just be a result of the detox.

To see more of my India escapades, click on my other articles on the Kerala experience:

Ayurvedic healing in India

Kerala food

And keep checking here for more stories.  I’ll also be writing about the ‘message from God’ that I got on my last night in India!

Most importantly DON’T FORGET to listen to my audio interview with Dr. Sambhu!  It’s amazing!  Scroll up this post to find it!

Oh, and if you want to stay updated on my news, make sure to sign up on my website www.AliaAlmoayed.com

5 responses to “Interviewing the Ayurvedic Doctor

  1. I recently had to spend a month in India following spinal surgery, i desperately needed to detox after a year of having non-stop harsh medications and steroids and i couldnt have imagined how ‘clean’ i felt when i left! Ayurvedic treatment is one of the most wholesome by far and i will be going back yearly to keep on top of it! It really is a wonderous form of treatment on so many levels! and the massages are magic!🙂

  2. Wow….great experience ; good for you🙂 would love to try it one day! But isn’t it available here in Bahrain?

  3. we all need some of this bio-detergent… love it, very interesting and educating. Thank-you for opening our minds, keep it up.

  4. Ah, This is great! Puts to bed
    a few misnomers I’ve been hearing.

Leave a Reply

