Holiday Indian-style!

While everything was quiet here in Bahrain this weekend, we celebrated Indian-style!  On Saturday, we had a ‘Dosa party’ brunch.  Gracy made some delicious dosa (a rice-based dosa and a bean-based dosa) with scrumptious toppings.  If you are not familiar with dosa, I guess the closest thing to it would be pancakes (but it’s more savoury than sweet).

You can see some of the selection in the photo above.

The lighter-coloured type of dosa is made from brown rice, urid dhal (white lentils) and fenugreek. Everything is soaked in water the day before, then blended, then cooked like pancakes.  I don’t know too many cooking details because I still cannot make it myself.

The other type of dosa is made from a blend of different beans and lentils, which are also soaked and blended and then cooked like pancakes.

To go with that, we had some lovely toppings:  hummus and zaatar, a mint dip, a coriander/coconut chutney, eggplant/lentil sauce, and some potato mash.  Oh, and some honey as well.  They were all D.E.L.I.C.I.O.U.S!

I would highly recommend you go Indian over your next holiday.  Yum!

That’s all from me for today…

Don’t forget to sign up on my website to stay posted www.AliaAlmoayed.com

One response to “Holiday Indian-style!

  1. Pingback: Kerala food « ALIA ALMOAYED's Blog

Leave a Reply

