Apple Lassies

I apologise for the long break from blogging.  But I’m back and that’s what counts!

On this wintery rainy day, I thought I’d share with you a recipe for a nice warm dessert. I made it with the kids the other day and they just loved it.  I invented it as I was desperately trying to find a healthy dessert option for us to make together.

Have a look! Baked apples with walnut/cinnamon/maple syrup stuffing.  If you could only smell it!

The name

First of all, we called them Apple Lassies.  The ‘Lassies’ comes from our initials L (Laith), A (Alia)  and S (Selma) and then the name evolved to Lassies. Corny, I know, but it stuck!

The method

Making them is so simple!  Have a try yourself and let me know of any variations you add.

  1. Preheat the oven to around 250-300F
  2. crush some raw walnuts and mix them with cinnamon and organic maple syrup to make a yummy stuffing for the apples
  3. Then cut the apples in half (I use a combination of red and green apples, whatever works for you). and core each half deep enough to add the stuffing.
  4. Put a tiny amount of butter into each apple half and scoop in a generous amount of the walnut stuffing into it.
  5. Put the apples on a baking sheet and pop them into the oven for about half an hour or until you start smelling the wonderful aromas.  I keep them until I see the apples have reduced in size and there’s a good amount of sizzle and smell.
  6. Take them out and enjoy!  But be careful, they can be hot!
  7. When I serve them, I also give topping options of plain cocoa powder, a sprinkle of dessicated coconut, or more maple syrup.  You can choose your extras!  See the picture above

They make a wonderful wintery dessert and the cinnamon/apple/walnut aroma goes wonderfully with the holidays!

Enjoy and please feel free to give them a different name!

If you haven’t done so already, don’t forget to sign up on my website for more good stuff www.AliaAlmoayed.com

Happy holidays!

One response to “Apple Lassies

  1. I can attest to their tastiness. And I never knew that’s why they were called that!!

Leave a Reply

