Piano.. my new old love

Piano

This blog post has NOTHING to do with nutrition or eating or health (actually no, it has A LOT to do with health).

I wanted to write today about my new re-kindled love.  I made a decision this past April to buy a piano. Did I know how to play the piano? Not at all. But I really really wanted to!

*** Scroll down to hear me play ***

Let me give you a bit of background.  I took up piano lessons when I was maybe 11 or 12 years old.  Out of the blue, I remember sitting in the back seat of the car with my parents asking them if I could take up piano lessons.  And to my surprise, they said yes!!  So I started and I was really enjoying it.  I did about 2 years of lessons and then like many teenagers today, I did something not very smart.  I quit.

I can’t remember why I quit.  It was probably a combination of starting a new school, being too busy and too ‘cool’ to be going to piano lessons, and maybe the Gulf war at the time had something to do with it… I don’t know… the point is I QUIT.

But I moved on happily with my life.  Over time, I forgot everything that I learned.  I remember until recently, every time I see someone playing the piano I get the ‘I used to play too’ feeling.  So, I thought to myself (and I think I even said it to my husband once or twice) “when the kids are older, I’ll take up piano again”.

A few months ago (I guess it must have been around March), I was driving home one evening, with the kids arguing in the back seat and the baby screaming, and I thought, “to hell with it, I’m not gonna wait till the kids are older, I’m just gonna take up piano now!”

… and here I am writing about it (Aaaahhhhh).

The reason I’m writing about it

So, why am I writing about it?  Not because I want to show off (although I might show off when I’m really really good – just kidding).  There are several reasons why I felt the need to write about it.

Because music is probably the best thing that could happen to health!  I’m serious!  It has taken my physical and emotional health to a whole new level.  I would literally get lost in the music.  It’s the best form of meditation.  Nothing better than music therapy.  For me, when I started playing music, I even started looking at the world differently.  There’s always a song in my head and I notice more of the beauty around me.  Even elevator music would get my fingers tapping!

Because I wanted to tell all the teenagers out there to stick to whatever ‘thing’ they’re into.  I know it’s easy to quit when you’re a teenager because you start thinking about cars and grades, and the opposite sex.  But a skill will be a great outlet for you now and later in life.  SO STICK WITH IT.  You’ll thank me when you’re older.  Also, if you’re a parent of a teenager who wants to quit, make sure you explain why they should stick to it (and please don’t use the ‘because we’ve paid a lot of money for it’ reason).

Because I wanted to tell all the mothers (or fathers) out there NOT to wait before doing something they love.  Taking up a musical instrument, or art, or whatever it is you like, will only make you a better (and happier) parent.  I know a lot of my friends have a lot of projects ‘on hold’, and I say why wait?  Just go for it!

Because I wanted you to take a few minutes out of your busy schedule to just listen to a short piece of music.  I hope you can enjoy it like I do.  Be warned, it’s not professional playing (I only started in April), but it’s good enough.  You’ll only see my hands playing because of the angle of the camera but I swear it’s me!  I did not hire someone to do it for me (in fact, if I hired someone I would have hired someone a bit better).

So here goes…

I selected two short pieces for this post.  You can also find them on my YouTube Channel. There are two more pieces on YouTube. And I’ll try to keep updating them as I hopefully get better🙂

Those Were The Days – it’s an old song but I love it.  Always puts me in a good mood and I end up humming it all day!

The Entertainer – I like this one because it’s upbeat and was a challenge to play at first. My 10-month old Tameem loves this one and always dances to it. He loves music and made us all love music too!

Leave me a comment below to let me know what you think (only nice comments please, I really don’t want to quit again!).

And if you haven’t done so already, sign up on my website for the latest of my news www.AliaAlmoayed.com

6 responses to “Piano.. my new old love

  1. go alia you are realy good keep it up🙂

  2. :-)Brilliant! … can you do the pink panther song?

  3. Suhail Algosaibi

    Very nice!

  4. Pingback: Global Voices Online » Bahrain: A New Old Love

  5. WELL DONE, Alia!!
    Honestly I am very impressed and can’t believe you’ve learned to play so good in 6 months only!! Wow!!! I have always believed it takes ages (or at least years) to learn a complete song, but you did it really quickly!!! Keep going!
    Although I have never dreamed of playing a piano I must admit you have just inspired me to try myself learning to play some of my favorite songs. (May be not today , but one day…)
    You got me thinking on the point that we -as parents – often put ourselves the last and as years fly by (waiting for the kids to grow up), so do our dreams. As someone once said : there never will be enough time to do “something”, we just need to make time for it. I agree it is not worth to wait and all forms of art make us see and appreciate the beauty around us even better.
    You are always an inspiration for me.
    Thank you

  6. Alia you are so good!
    I really envy you. You did an excellent job.
    I am totally into piano. Whenever I see someone playing piano, I keep looking and dreaming to be best musician ever!!!
    I just bought a digital piano last week. Although I’m in college, I am doing my best to learn. I’m sure it would take me too long.
    Keep it up. And don’t forget to let us see your improvement.
    Best wishes🙂

Leave a Reply

