My birthday cake!

It was my birthday yesterday!  As much as I would have liked to keep my age to myself, my kids keep announcing it to everyone they see and they even insisted on adding the number candles to my cake!  Actually, we just used old candles from their previous birthdays (I just love using old candles that others have already made a wish on, it makes them feel ‘antique-ish’ and makes me feel that old and new energies are combining)… ok, I’ll stop now and let you see the cake (below)..

My birthday cake (photographed by my brother Sofyan Almoayed who has a funky camera and a new lens that he's very proud of).  The candles are from when each of my kids turned 3

My birthday cake (photographed by my brother Sofyan Almoayed who has a funky camera and a new lens that he's very proud of). The candles are from when each of my kids turned 3

August 2 in history

I bet everyone remembers what they were doing on August 2 1990.  It was the first time that my average birthday became a day in history.  I’m sure you can remember where you were and how you heard that ‘Saddam Hussein invaded Kuwait’.

It was my 14th birthday then.  I had been so excited the night before because we were in the South of France on holiday and my father had agreed to take us to a huge water park for the day to celebrate my birthday..  When I woke up in the morning, I saw the gloomy looks on my parents faces and the News was blasting on television.  Oh, no!  Why did he have to do it on my birthday!  To be honest, I didn’t really care that a war loomed or that the whole region was at risk.  I just wanted to go swim!  How lovely it must have been to have no care in the world other than what you will do (or wear) that day…

Anyway, things turned out fine after all… and my father did agree to take us to the water park after all, as he promised.  It must have been tough for him to sit there watching us as he mulled over the day’s horrific news…

Now, every time I tell someone that my birthday is on the 2nd of August, we have a conversation topic!

This year’s birthday

I have a friend (who shall remain nameless) who was complaining that her kids are both born in the summer and that they’ll never be able to enjoy a birthday party with their friends.

Let me tell you, being a ‘summer baby’ myself I absolutely loved it!  My birthdays have been celebrated over many summer holidays, in many different countries.  When you’re born in the summer, people will always be in holiday mode on your birthday!  I love that!

The only thing I felt I was missing out on being born in the summer was that as kids, my brothers would get a birthday dedication on Radio Bahrain on our drive to school with my dad.  I thought that was sooo cool that the DJ knew it was their birthday!

In spite of that, I’ve had many beautiful summer birthdays that I can remember clearly. My 23rd was on honeymoon in Bali; my 25th was in London; my 27th was on a beach in Turkey; my 30th was in Disneyland Paris; and last year’s was in Germany’s Black Forest.

This year, I spent my birthday here in sunny Bahrain.  We celebrated this past ‘dusty’ Friday, but it was lovely anyway.  I decided to make my own cake and I really enjoyed it.  It was my gift to myself!

The cake recipe

I have written about this cake before but I want to talk about it some more because I love it so much.  I’ve increased the quantity to make enough for a larger group of people.  My brother got carried away photographing it, but I’ll have to agree that it looked great too and I was very proud of my creation.

My birthday - chocolate decadence - cake with raspberries! Yummy!

My birthday - chocolate decadence - cake with raspberries! Yummy!

You can make it too, it’s sooooo simple:

For your next event, try this cake.  I got the ingredients from a fantastic book called Raw Food Made Easy which is worth every penny.  I’ve adjusted the ingredients slightly and here’s how I made it.  This recipe makes a generous serving for 6-10 adults.

  • 6 cups raw walnuts
  • 1 1/3 cup unsweetened coco powder
  • 80  soft dates
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 8 tsp water
  • For decoration: raspberries and coconut powder

Can you believe that’s it!  It’s raw, it’s vegan, and it’s delicious!

Just mix all the ingredients together in a food processor (you may need to mix in 2 batches if your food processor is small).  Put it all in a cheesecake pan.  Press everything down with your hands until the cake is nice and compact.  And voila! It’s ready to eat.

Just before serving, arrange your raspberries on top and then sprinkle with coconut powder to have a ‘snowy’ effect.  The dark chocolate taste contrasted with the sour berries is just lovely.

So this is my gift to you – my cake!

Hope you have wonderful parties with it :)  Let me know what you think!

And don’t forget to sign up on my website for the latest

xx

4 responses to “My birthday cake!

  1. 33 is a good/fun/wonderful age enjoy!

  2. Hey,

    I read your blog once in a while and I’ve subscribed to your nutrition newsletter. I have to disagree with you! Being born in the summer sucks! No one was ever there to celebrate my birthday. I was either on vacation, my friends were on vacation or it was just too hot! I went to all my friends birthdays but rarely were people ever able to make it to mine. I really hope that my kids aren’t born in the summer!

  3. Great recipe! Thank you. I am 8 months pregnant and really trying to eat healthily. I was so much craving for chocolate and had been denying it from myself for over three months. Now, I just “cooked” this. No remorse!
    Thanks once more (and for all the rest)!!!

  4. Pingback: My coconut birthday cake! « ALIA ALMOAYED's Blog

Leave a Reply

