Cool and Healthy summer ideas!

I want to have enough time to tell you about 3 different healthy ideas today, so I’ll get right to it.

1 –  Fruit lollies

The most exciting thing for us these days is the ‘fruit lollies’. It’s the most basic concept, but is WOW for both adults and kids.
Basically, we take all our favourite fruits, chuck them in the blender to create a smoothie-like texture, and then pour them into ice lolly trays to make ‘ice cream’. They’re great to eat outside in the garden, at the pool, or just about anywhere (mind the drip). Speaking of drip, I have some ice lolly trays that come with a drip tray that allows you to suck the residue from a straw… they’ve really thought of everything! It’s fantastic! We each have our personal favourites. Selma likes the mixed fruits flavour (usually whatever is in the fridge); Laith (just like his father) loves the mango. He could probably live on mangoes. And my personal favourite these days is sweet melon ice lollies. It’s so refreshing and I even give it to Tameem while we’re in the garden; he’s only 6 1/2 months old but he loves it and he makes the cutest expression when a little icy piece is in his mouth. Ahhh, the simple pleasures of life🙂

So, if you haven’t done so yet, go get ice lolly trays (usually sold at any supermarket or kitchen store, and make your own concoctions. What a great and healthy way to spend the summer months!  I often also sneak in some sunflower seeds or flax seeds into the mix for a boost of nutrients.  I’ve also sometimes added some omega oils and occasionally bee pollen.  It really makes these ice lollies a fantastic snack option, especially for kids (by the way, the kids don’t even notice the taste of the add-ons, so win-win right?).  Try it and leave a comment to let us know what your favourite combinations are.

2 – RAW maki

My second suggestion is one that I always thought was too challenging to do. As you may have heard, I ventured into making RAW maki with the kids. I thought I’ll try to make them and if I mess up, no one has to know. So I bought the nori sheets from the supermarket and looked up a very easy recipe that uses RAW ingredients (but not raw fish, the veg option). I ended up taking a few ideas from a book and a website that I will suggest to you in a minute. But I’ll just briefly tell you how I did them just so you see how EASY it was!

Here’s what I used (the quantity of each will totally depend on how much you want to make and how much of each ingredient you prefer in your maki). Basically, get:
Avocado (cut into thin slices)
Cucumber (shredded)
Mung bean sprouts (sprouted in advance)*
sesame seeds

* If you haven’t sprouted before, leave a comment below. I was considering writing about how I sprout (as i only recently learnt myself) so I want to know if you’re interested.

Back to the maki. So you take one nori sheet, put the above ingredients one at a time along the edge of the sheet, sprinkle the sesame seeds and then roll tight and use a little water on your finger tip to stick it every time you roll. I use a sushi board to help me roll, but you can do it without it too.  The first couple of rolls came out sloppy but I soon got the hang of it. Then, you just cut them in maki sizes (as in photo), and serve with soya sauce.
You can basically put whatever you want in there. Shredded carrots, cabbage, or even thin mango slices make yummy additions too. Try it and let me know what you think!

My home-made veggy maki

My home-made veggy maki

Great raw suggestions

Here is the name of a raw cookbook that is worth it’s weight in gold. It’s called Raw Food Made Easy
. The recipes are so great and easy to make. And they are delicious. I highly recommend it. I got my maki idea from there, as well as the raw chocolate cake idea that I will mention in a minute.  I always like to add my own touch to the recipes, but they’re great even if you follow them to the letter.

Another good resource is a website called www.therawdivas.com. You can get many recipes and ideas from there.

3 – Heavenly chocolate cake

My last recipe idea is a decadent dessert that I love because it’s totally natural and raw and it really satisfies those chocolaty taste buds. If you’re not used to eating dark chocolate, it may need a bit of adjustment, but I personally love it and so does my whole family, especially the kids!  We end up licking every single crumb!

Here’s how I make it:
1 1/2 cups of raw (unroasted, unsalted) walnuts
20 small, soft dates
1/3 cup coco powder (unsweetened)
2 tsp water
1/2 tsp cinnamon
optional: desiccated coconut for decoration
optional: serve with berries

Basically, you just put all these ingredients (not the coconut and berries) in the food processor and mix them up. Then pour the mixture in a small cake pan and press with your fingers until it’s compacted. Then just sprinkle the desiccated coconut so that it looks like icing sugar. And serve! Yes, it’s that simple!
You can cut it into slices or make  small browny sizes. Bear in mind, it will not be puffy but actually quite thin. The taste will be dense and very satisfying so don’t be fooled by its small size relative to other cakes.

I just love it! Here’s a picture of the one I made last week. This week, I put the coconut and cut them into small squares.  Varying the shapes keeps it interesting🙂

My sumptuous chocolate heaven!

My sumptuous chocolate heaven!

Let me know how you get on….
Leave a comment to let us know what you’ve tried, or if you have any other recipe suggestions

And don’t forget to go to my website and add your name to my email list so you can be the first to know when I post something new!

Enjoy and bon appetit!

Gotta run back to my ‘mommy’ duties!

One response to “Cool and Healthy summer ideas!

  1. I think the cake is missing something, there is no flour at all!!!!! strange

Leave a Reply

