My ant revenge!

The other day I was doing yoga as usual and I decided I’ve had it!  It wasn’t the yoga, it was an army of tiny little ants that have taken my ‘yoga room’ (which is the room next to the swimming pool in the compound) and turned it into their highway.  Right next to my yoga mat there was a trail of ants marching back and forth carrying all kinds of insects and weird stuff.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I usually like to leave bugs alone, but this time it was getting too icky.  They were encroching on the privacy of my mat and there was no way that I was going to meditate with the possbility of ants climbing on my legs.

My husband suggested I just spray them once, get rid of them and then air the room until my next yoga class (because he knows I find insect sprays very toxic and wouldn’t spray anything even if my life depended on it!).  “No way” I thought.  So I spent the rest of that yoga class planning my ant revenge.

This was my plan: to get rid of the ants naturally so that I don’t have to inhale any toxic stuff while doing yoga.  And also, prevent them from coming back with a natural ant-deterrant.  Think think think….

Here’s what happened:  we brushed away all the ants, making sure we got them from the beginning of their trail till the end.  Then we mopped the whole trail with water and tea tree oil (I read once that it’s not good enough if you just brush them away because they can smell the trail and come right back to it).  And then, finally, we dusted the whole trail with ground pepper (yes, good old ground black pepper from the spice cabinet)!

Almost instantly, the ant problem was resolved.  No toxic chemicals.  Everyone’s happy (well, except the ants I guess).  And I was able to once again do yoga in peace.

Other magical household cleaners

Over the past couple of years, I have been looking for, and trying out, natural alternatives for household cleaning items such as dettol, floor cleaners, windex, harpic, etc. (no offense to the makers of these stuff, but IT IS ALL TOXIC!).  Some houses I’ve been to use so much of this stuff, they smell like hospitals!  You’re trying to clean to prevent germs and you end up producing other health problems in the process, especially if you have kids!

Do not use regular household cleaning products, they are toxic!

So here are a few ideas that you can use. This is stuff that I have personally tried and can attest to.  I’m sure you can find many other ideas online or in some books.  But for now, try these:

  1. Dust ground black pepper in areas that usually have ants (after wiping their trail)
  2. Put a few drops of peppermint oil in the same areas to deter all kinds of insects (even cockroaches)
  3. Peppermint oil can also be used with a candle instead of those insecticide candles for the garden
  4. For your tiled floor, dip your mop in a bucket of water with a few drops of tea tree oil
  5. Put a few drops of tea tree oil in a bottle of water and use that to clean toilets and basins
  6. For removing toilet stains, use a cup of white vinegar.  And put a teaspoon of baking soda in the toilet water at night while the toilet is being used the least and leave it in for as long as possible.
  7. Put some white vinegar in water and pour it into an empty windex bottle and use it to spray stainless steel pots (it’s great for removing stains).  And you can also use it to clean the windows!

I found these just by doing a quick internet search, so I’m sure you can find a lot more if you just spend a few more minutes.  It will save your health and it’s saving us some $$$$ as well!

If you know of any other natural house cleaning solutions, please share them with us here by clicking on the ‘comment’ link.

Come on, I’m sure you have one or two ideas.  Click on ‘leave a comment’ and let us know.

I can’t wait to try your solutions!

To see how Reem put her spice cabinet to good use see my previous blog post on Cayenne Pepper to Stop Bleeding!

Take care and don’t forget to sign up on my website for more exciting stuff www.AliaAlmoayed.com

2 responses to “My ant revenge!

  1. Reem Al-Arayed

    As much as I love their almost Korean abilities to synchronize their marching and mass gatherings, ants do sometimes cross the line from being nature’s most obsessive compulsive creatures to nature’s most formidable pest. I have, over the years, discovered a non toxic alternative to Piff Paff. All provided in a packet of humble yeast. Yeast, as I learned, again from TV, this time the National Geographic channel, is toxic to ants. It does not kill them instantly, but takes days. This allows them to carry it back to the nest, feed it to their Queen or whoever is in charge, and to their young. This will consequently kill them all, with their dignity in tact and in the comfort of their home. Here is what you do. Let the ants think they have gotten away with whatever they are doing. Mix a teaspoon of yeast with 2 tablespoons of honey. Place in a shallow receptacle (otherwise they can’t crawl up) and leave a few drops dripping from the side to entice them in. Place the dish where you know the ants are and they will do the rest. Problem solved.

  2. Pretty nice site you’ve got here. Thanx for it. I like such themes and everything connected to them. I definitely want to read more soon.

    Truly yours

Leave a Reply

