Uggghh, Breastfeeding!

This is what I keep hearing from mothers around me.  If you’ve tried breastfeeding, chances are you’ve hated it. Hormones all over the place, leaking breasts, tight schedules, feeling hot and sticky, sore nipples, blocked ducts, and the list goes on…

BUT there’s a HUGE plus side. When your baby looks up at you between gulps… worth everything!  And that’s not all.  There’s a lot more benefits to your hard work… read on.

I had a conversation once with a new mother who said she decided to put her 6-week old baby on formula milk because she says she has seen a lot of babies who are breastfed and ‘it doesn’t seem to have made a difference’.  All my efforts to convince her of the opposite were useless, she was convinced.

As a breastfeeding mother, I know that it’s not the funnest thing to be doing all day.  BUT I have to disagree on the part that says it makes no difference.  Breastfeeding has so many advantages that it would be impossible to list them all here.  I like to think of it as ‘every breastfeed is one less visit to the doctor’.

Four and a half months into breastfeeding my baby, I’m glad to report that I’m coping well.  It’s much easier the third time around, of course, but I think it has become easier this time because I’m going into it absolutely convinced that it’s the best thing for me and the baby.

Someone commented on one of my previous blog posts about Gina Ford, asking if breast milk has the same benefits if expressed and given in a bottle.  That’s a great question.  If you give breast milk to your baby from the bottle, he’d be getting all the nutrition of the milk but missing out on the other benefits.  Of course, it’s still A LOT better than formula, but breastfeeding benefits go beyond that.  For example, breastfeeding also gives the benefits of bonding with the baby, as well as amazing benefits to the jaw and ear canals which get massaged as the baby sucks.

Robert Cohen is an anti-milk activist and he truly believes in the benefits of breastfeeding, like I do. I got an email from him today about all the great things you would be doing if you breastfeed and it really put a smile on my face.  I guess my feeling is always that I want to give my kids as much as I can, even if it means some inconvenience in the process.

Check out what he attached to his email.  101 Reasons to Breastfeed. I love #95🙂

If you haven’t heard of Robert Cohen before or you’re wondering why anyone would be against milk and dairy products, then check out his website NotMilk.com.

I used to be the biggest cheese addict in the world and my life (and my health) completely changed once I stopped it.  I also stopped milk and all other dairy products.  It has been almost 10 years now, and let me tell you… WOW, what a difference!

I’ll tell you more about how to make the life-changing switch to a dairy-free life in another post….

For now, let me ask you this:

If you are a mother, have you ever breastfed?  For how long? And how did you find it?

If you are not a mother, do you know anyone who has breastfed? What did you think of the whole process? And most importantly, would you have chosen to breastfeed if you were ever in that situation (you can answer this even if you are a male)?

Leave your answers in the comments below, I can’t wait to see what you think!

talk soon🙂

Oh, and don’t forget to visit my other websites.  You can find them to the top left of this blog.

17 responses to “Uggghh, Breastfeeding!

  1. hi,

    I am a new mom, my girl will be 6 weeks this thursday. I am breastfeeding and using formulas as well.
    My girl seems fussy sometime during the day when i breastfeed her which make me confused.
    breastfeeding is great but makes me tired, i don’t know how much is enough. sometimes she would stop drinking and then cries again in 10 mints..
    I would love to continue breastfeeding!!
    Another thing i am not sure if i am producing enough milk, sometimes when i pump for 4 hores the milk is enough, but after 2 hours i don’t feel that my breast has replinish and my baby keeps crying!!
    bottom line,, it’s a hard thing!!

  2. Ebtisam Fahmi

    Dear Alia,
    I totally and fully agree and support your thoughts about breastfeeding.. I myself breasfed my two sons (One 10 now and the other 4).. Both experience were amazing and I loved it.
    Best wishes
    Love xx Ebti.

  3. Susan Barber

    Hi ALia
    I breastfeed Luke for 2 1/2 years…Layne for 3….loved it becuase of what it is all about–had some rough times but La Leche League was a HUGE support. why would anyone NOT breastfeed their baby???? Thanks for the great post

  4. I am a mother of 7. Each and every one of my children was breastfed. The shortest time was 15 months, and the longest was 30 months. I have to disagree with anyone who has negative things to say about breastfeeding. It is convenient, always ready, always the right temperature. I’ve fed babies in shopping malls, at church, in the movie theatre, while out for a walk, even in the car – baby was strapped in and so was I. It was as easy as leaning forward! Babies are portable, and there is nothing easier than breastfeeding!

  5. I am a mother of 7. Each and every one of my children was breastfed. The shortest time was 15 months, and the longest was 30 months. I have to disagree with anyone who has negative things to say about breastfeeding. It is convenient, always ready, always the right temperature. I’ve fed babies in shopping malls, at church, in the movie theatre, while out for a walk, even in the car – baby was strapped in and so was I. It was as easy as leaning forward! Babies are portable, and there is nothing easier than breastfeeding!

  6. I breastfed my son for 2 1/2 years and I’ve so far breastfed my daughter for 10 months. My son never had an ear infection until we moved to Bahrain and he’s nearly 5 years old – when so many children are plagued with them! I am sure the breastfeeding gave him such a healthy ENT system. When you breastfeed the closeness is amazing and I really treasure that with my second child because it is very special ‘us’ time. Also, it’s a lovely relaxing time for me to read and sit quietly during a busy day. It’s the natural thing to do and, what many people dont realize, it has huge health benefits for the mother too such as protection against some cancers and osteoporosis. And it makes smarter kids – lots of research on this. So please Mums, get any help you can, just do it for as long as you can – the WHO recommends 2+ years. Good luck!

  7. Also, you can find some great video clips to help new breastfeeders get the right position etc.. Jack Newman is an world expert (I attended his clinics for help) and I’ll give a link but some of his sites are stupidly blocked. I suppose because they show breasts!! http://www.gentlemothering.ca/DRNewmanVideos.html

  8. Hi Alia,
    I would love to breastfeed my 10 weeks old baby girl until 2 years old, however starting from yesterday and only yesterday, she didnt want to suck from me and prefered the bottel😦 any advice? im really upset

  9. hi…i am 4 months pregnant 2nd time round. I breast fed my first child for 2 years and also used formula occassionally as he was the hungry type, he is 8.5 years old now and wud definitely do the same for the coming baby…there is nothing comparable to breast-milk, thats God creations, so why deprive your child of all the goodness it has to offer,after all it is something which u cannot give the child once they grow up…

  10. Mariam Marhoon

    I’m a mother of a 6 month baby and I’ll continue breastfeeding him untill he is 2 years as quraan said .. I like the 101 article and I loved number 100.Breastfed babies smell fantastic .. It’s really true ,, my baby smell is amazing ..

  11. Hi Alia !
    I am a mother of 2 daughters aged 8 and 5. I breastfeed them both while working. So nothing is impossible. Meyan was fully breastfed for 2 years with no drop of formula. With Juwan I had to start one night feed after 8 months and I stoped breastfeeding when she was one year and 3 months. I know it is very difficult, but it passes very fast. it is only few months of every kids life, but thinking about what it would give them will make u forget everything else. My kids don’t get sick alot, and when they do they mashalla recover very fast. If i have to write about this topic i can write a book🙂 it is an investment for thier health.

  12. Hello,

    I am a mother of a 8 year old girl, who unfortunately did not feed much from me, and stopped by herself when she was 6 months old. I have a “little” boy who will be 2 years in July. My friends tell me that boys are difficult to wean and they will want to be fed till they are 5-6 years. Is it true? I feed him only mornings, evenings when I go home and then during the course of the night. Of course he eats lunch, dinner and fruits as well in between. No idea how long I am to continue…

  13. Hi, I am still currently exclusively breastfeeding my baby of 7 months old. I found at 3 weeks it became tough but I was told by other mums to stick with it and it will get easier which I did and it did!! I’ve had mastitis twice which is no fun but breastfeeding is so easy, a little too easy as I never gave my baby anything else but now I am having trouble, he will not accept a bottle (not for formula but for expressed milk or water), sippy cup, spoon, anything and also I’ve tried to introduce solids but he downright refuses. People keep saying maybe he doesnt like the flavour of what I am giving him but I dont even get it that far, he wont let me even get the spoon near his face, he turns away and hits the spoon!!! SO, although I believe breastfeeding is great, I believe you should at least once every couple of days give a bottle of expressed milk and even formula (what if something happens to your milk and then the baby refuses formula – which my son also does!)from a young age so that you dont come up against these problems.

  14. Uggghh… breastfeedig… the most exhausting –yet rewarding- thing I have done in my life (so far!). And if I can do it, I’m sure you can🙂 When you first get pregnant everyone around you talks about pregnancy and how to prepare yourself for labour, but you rarely hear someone telling you how demanding and draining breastfeeding is.

    I am breastfeeding my almost 8 months old boy. In addition to my major baby blues, 10 days after giving birth I suffered mastitis and bleeding nipples (ewww) and almost gave up on breastfeeding. While at hospital my son was given formula (along with the expressed milk I sent). However, as soon as I was home I breastfed again. It got easier by the day (hmmmm, not every day!). A few days ago I had bruise like pain on my breast, high temp and body aches. I was diagnosed with mastitis again. I think it’s because my son is on three meals now and not very interested feeding more than three times.

    I went back to work when my son turned 4 months. My friends though I was crazy to continue breastfeeding. But I had to master the art of expressing if I wanted to continue breastfeeding and go back to work. I used to express day and night to prepare for his morning feeds while I was at the office (yes I did feel like a cow). I got him used to drinking expressed milk from an early age. Probably this is why I never faced the nipple confusion problem everyone talks about.

    I plan to continue breastfeeding … there is nothing like mama’s milk!

  15. Josina Barreto

    My baby is 6 1/2 months old now, and i started giving him ceralac which is his daily noon food. Before i go ahead would like to tell you that i breast fed my baby for 6months (and continuing to do so) without giving him the instant formula. I express my milk for the next day so that i can give it to the baby siiter to feed him…the quantity is as follows for the morning i give him 120ml before which i tell the babysitter to give him some water. He is with the babysitter from 8.00am – 12.00pm and 3.30pm – 6.00pm which are also my office timings. So at 12.15 i will feed him ceralac and after half an hour i will breastfeed him, then for the later half of the day i will express another 60 – 70ml milk and also make some fennel seeds water (for the gas) and give it to the baby sitter. Then at 6.00pm when i pick him up i give him his shower, express milk for the next morning and breast feed him at the same time and he is off to sleep for some time. This is his daily routine.
    Alia could you tell me please whether this routine is right?….i also want to start with some vegetable mesh….the other day i gave him homemade carrot juice (30ml), he had it very well the first day the second he didnt drink it at all, i also tried giving him potato meshed with little unsalted butter. Could you advice me on some more foods that is good for him at this age.

    At times i get very less flow and am unable to express milk for the next day….and if i dont express the required amount i really get upset and don’t have the mood for anything else and start crying….are there any foods which will help me get a good flow of milk……what i do at the moment to help me get some flow is drink milk before i start expressing and give a small breast massage.
    Can you please… need your advice.

  16. Hi Alia and all mothers. I totally agree with you. nothing is like breastfeeding. I’ve just delivered last Jan and my baby is almost 6 months, and exclusivley breasfed her. Believe me mashalla she never needed a dr so far and she’s quite healthy! Your post encoraged me to keep on nursing her till she’s a year inshalla!

    Regards

    Sarah S.

  17. I have breastfed both my sons, and will also breastfeed my third child. I don’t believe in drinking cows milk, and I just had a discussion with a GP, who said that my 11 month old should be introduced to cows milk at the age of 12 months. I explained that I don’t believe that cows milk is healthy for humans and I don’t want to start feeding him cows milk. So far he is a healthy, happy, energetic boy, with a strong immune system. I had a discussion with the GP, and I was amazed that he had such an old fashioned point of view and wasn’t aware that children do not have to drink cows milk to get the nutrition they need, and was so closed minded! Especially not with all the hormones , etc.. that are pumped into commercial milk. Needless to say I won’t be going back there with my children. Now the question is should I start giving almond milk, keep giving formula, in supplement to his normal food, even after 1 year(he has been formula fed since the age of 6 months). I have your book on a healthy pregnancy which is terrific, and I can recommend to other pregnant mums. Please give some advice to what milk to give after the age of 12 months, and why isn’t soy milk on the list in your book, as my older son, has soy milk with his cereal, etc..

Leave a Reply

