Hail Gina Ford!

I’m celebrating in silence this week.  It’s a celebration that only new mothers can appreciate.  My baby has turned three months.  Hurray!  I feel like I have been holding my breath and now I exhaled.  Why?  Because I’m breastfeeding exclusively and I really wanted it to go smoothly.  I don’t even have formula milk in my kitchen so the pressure is all on me to help this creature double his size in a mere 12 weeks.  I’ve had to feed through cold and hot nights, good and bad days; I even had to continue while suffering from a horrible stomach bug and a high temperature.  But that’s in the past now… And I did it!

Of course, I will keep going with the breastfeeding (for as long as I possibly can) and I will eventually answer all the questions that I’m getting from people about what I will do with the baby since I don’t believe in dairy products! If this the first time you hear this, yes, you heard right….

But that’s a topic for another blog post…

Today, I have something more important to say.  To all new mothers (and fathers) out there, I have only two words to tell you.  So listen and listen well.  GINA FORD.

Gina Ford is the baby whisperer.  I can honestly say that she saved my life.  She wrote a book called The New Contented Little Baby Book and if you have a baby (or going to have a baby) then you’ve gotta get the book.  I mean it.

I always say that if God ever had a baby manual, this would be it.

In the book, Gina Ford tells you exactly what to do with your baby every minute of your day.  She helps turn a screaming monster into an sleeping angel.  I was very skeptical at first, but I only believed it when I saw it.

When I had my baby 3 months ago, I thought I had to put him on some sort of routine or we’ll all suffer.  I had to be sane enough to tend to my other two kids and still have time to work from home during my maternity leave.  Let me tell you, I put him on the Gina Ford programme at around 3 weeks old (which is when they start to get difficult) and I have never looked back.  I thought I’d contact her personally and let her know how much she helped me and my baby, but I know for a fact that she has fans all over the world and however much gratitude I show her it will not be enough.

Unlike my other two kids, this baby (I call him Tameem Gina Ford) is much easier because he’s thriving on the routine.  He slept through the night at just 8 weeks old and I get to have predictable breaks where I can do my errands and catch up on sleep.  Even the breastfeeding improves when your baby is on the programme because you have long breaks between feeds and a lot less headaches and stress.

Trust me.  Don’t make my mistake.  Don’t doubt the programme, just get your kid on it as soon as possible.

Thanks Gina Ford, it’s because of you that I’m still awake and rational enough to write this post🙂

11 responses to “Hail Gina Ford!

  1. I know exactly how u feel .. I had one Gina ford baby and i loved everything about her … wait until u use her weaning book .. u will love her even more🙂 All the best🙂

  2. suhailalgosaibi

    Nice blog! And congrats to “Tameem Ford”🙂

  3. Love your weekly emails and all the health tips!!Congratulations on the blog ..
    I recommend this book to all new parents, it helped me alot with my Gina Ford baby😉

  4. Sharifa albarami

    Hi Alia

    I’m expecting my first baby later this summer, and have read the Gins Ford book, back to back. So glad to know that I am on the right track.
    Regards
    Sharifa

  5. Alf mabrook Sharifa. You’ll be ok if you put the baby on the programme. Enjoy it, there’s nothing like the moment you meet your baby🙂

  6. Hi Alia,

    We’re expecting (or my wife is, whichever is more politically correct) in August and you mentioned you’re breast feeding exclusively. Does that also mean breast milk in a bottle?

    Thanks.

  7. Thanx alot for ur advice .. i ordered the book as i am expecting this fall🙂

  8. Hi Alia,
    I ordered Gina Ford books and followed them since my delivery. My baby is 6 months old now, and i started to introduce solid foods (as per Gina Ford’s weaning book). However, my baby son doesn’t seem to be adjusting to solids, and every time a solid is introduced to him, he stays up almost all night with a severe stomach ache . He used to sleep through the night before that.

    I would highly appreciate your piece of advice on this matter.

  9. i agree too, looove this book alot….my baby girl is 19 weeks now and am so happy about Gina’s programme ..i can’t believe it !am sleeping the whole night…which i couldn’t have with my first baby…

    Alia .. all the best ..

  10. Just have to say IT’S TRUE! I love the CLB and the clear routines. I bought the book during pregnancy and read it cover to cover. Then when baby was 3 weeks I almost threw it out thinking “stupid routine doesn’t work for my baby” but now at 5 weeks old, we’re all settled in the appropriate routine🙂 Soooo nice to have some structure and get things done cause you KNOW baby’s gonna sleep. Go Gina!

  11. I’ll have to check this out on Amazon!

Leave a Reply

