Healthy Ice Cream??

Just when you thought I don’t have ice cream, I decide to prove you wrong!

It’s true I don’t have dairy products, but I still make the BEST ice cream in the world!

I got this amazing recipe from one of my relatives who got it from a RAW food cookbook.  I was thinking that with the summer approaching, it would be nice to make something cold for the kids (other than fruit lollies). I improvised a bit on the recipe and the result is amazing!

So here it is – CHOCOLATE ICE CREAM (made with no dairy products at all, and no sugar. Yes, you heard me right)

I have to share the recipe because this is too good to keep for myself.

Raw Chocolate Ice Cream:

Ingredients:

  • 6 ripe bananas
  • 3 tablespoons raw honey
  • 1/4 cup raw cacao powder
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

First (and most important), you must peel the bananas and freeze them overnight. The next day put the bananas in the food processor and add the cacao powder and the honey. This makes a creamy mixture and is good to eat as it is.

You can add the chopped walnuts into the mixture for a bit of crunch. This step is optional.

Another option is to sprinkle coconut powder on top (as I’ve done in the photo); or you can sprinkle chocolate shavings, cinnamon powder, or whatever else you like.

Note: You can increase or decrease the amounts of honey and cacao powder depending on how sweet or how chocolaty you like it.

And that’s it!

You can eat it immediately, or you can store it in the freezer (apparently it will keep for weeks but I’ve never tried because it just flies as soon as I make it). I like to freeze it in single glass portions for easier grab-and-devour access.

Enjoy!

For more exciting health tips, sign up on http://www.aliaalmoayed.com

وصفة الايسكريم بالموز والشوكولاتة

صحي وبدون اضافات

المقادير:

  • ٦ موزات ناضجات
  • ٣ ملاعق كبيرة عسل طبيعي
  • ١/٤ كوي بودرة كاكاو طبيعية غير محلاة
  • ١/٢ كوب جوز – غير مملح او محمص

آولا قشري الموز وثلجيه في الفريزر طول الليل.  ثاني يوم، ضعي الموز في الخلاطة واضيفي بودرة الكاكاو والعسل

ثم اضيفي الجوز في الآخر واخلطيه خلطة واحدة سريعة لكي يضل مقرمشا

بامكانك ايضا ان تضيفي بودرة جوز الهند، او الدارسين للتقديم

ملاحظة: بامكانك زيادة او تقليل العسل والكاكاو حسب الذوق

وهكذا يكون جاهزا

بامكانك تقديمه فورا او تثليجه في اكواب صغيرة

2 responses to “Healthy Ice Cream??

  1. Pingback: Ramadan and Ice Cream! | ALIA ALMOAYED's Blog

  2. Dear Alia,
    I was wondering why don’t you have dairy?
    I don’t have dairy because it causes me acne, phlegm and cramps. But I don’t know how scientific those symptoms are.
    Please can you elaborate more on this? Thank you.

Leave a Reply

